Your subscription plan is charged on a monthly basis. If you are on a yearly subscription, you will still be billed monthly but according to the discounted price.
Subscriptions are paid upfront and can be upgraded at any time with immediate effect. With upgraded subscription plans, billing will be resolved at the following payment term based on the original subscription date.
You can downgrade your monthly subscription plan at any point, taking effect at the next payment date.